R.I.P. Andy Robertson


It is with deep regret that I relate the news that Andy Robertson has passed away after suffering a heart attack and a stroke.

Andy was the man behind the NIGHT LAND website (http://www.thenightland.co.uk/nightmap.html) which has been a constant source of information and promotion regarding Hodgson and this seminal work.  His friend and executor, Brett Davidson, had this to say:

“I have just this morning received news that Andy Robertson, my editor and publisher, my friend and mentor has died as the result of a heart attack and stroke.

 I have said what Andy was, but he was more than that too.  He was a man who had known tragedy, losing his own wife at a young age, leaving behind two very talented daughters, developing Parkinson’s, and on his second marriage, had a son only to almost lose him at the age of three to leukaemia.  Despite all of this he retained his ebullient spirit, never denying reality, but struggling on and always helping the people around him.

 Andy was of course a good friend to me and one of my greatest teachers too.  He helped make me what I am, but I am not alone – there are many people left who can claim that of him.

He will leave a legacy – us.”

Andy has been a friend and supporter of this blog since it began.  We have lost not only a good friend but also a strong force in the preservation and promotion of Hodgson’s legacy.  Let us make a promise to continue his work in his memory.

 

3 Comments

Filed under William Hope Hodgson

3 responses to “R.I.P. Andy Robertson

  1. Eric

    Wow. I just heard about this less than an hour ago, and I’m still in shock.

    A long-time fan of his site, I only really became acquainted with him earlier this year when he was inviting other people to contribute to his new “Night Land” blog.

    I would have loved to have gotten to know him better, but I’m honored that I got to talk with him as much as I did.

    To his family and close friends, I offer my condolences. If I, who only got to know him recently, feel as sick as I do, I can’t imagine what you all are going through.

    To Mister Robertson himself, I can only offer this: rest well…and thank you for making the literary world that much better.

  2. Condolences and thoughts to his family and friends.

  3. I’ve very sorry to heard of his passing and my condolences. A great void, to be sure.

Leave a Reply

