Updates!


Well, the William Hope Hodgson Blog has been up and active for a little over a week now so it seems like a good time to take stock.  Response to the blog has been very favorable and I thank all of you who have visited and commented on the posts so far.  We seem to be off to a good start and I hope we can carry on this momentum.

Schedule

I’ve been updating the blog on a daily basis but it occurs to me that this may not have been the best idea.  It’s recently been pointed out to me that this pace makes it hard to fully digest each post before the next one appears.  I completely understand this.  Not everyone can check out the blog everyday and they may feel overwhelmed when the see the huge number of unread posts.  So I am going to institute a posting schedule of Monday-Wednesday-Friday.  Those are the days when I will do the ‘major’ posts such as articles and timelines, etc.  I may still post smaller, bullet type items other days but M-W-F will be the days that I suggest everyone check out the blog for the new posts.  Hopefully, this will keep not only your interest high but also the quality of the posts.

Poll

On that note, we had a nice turnout for our first poll “What Subjects Do You Want to See Covered?”.  Out of 37 votes cast, the results are:

Literary Criticism  (14 votes)

Hodgson’s Fiction  (8 votes)

Hodgson’s Life  (4 votes)

Book Covers   (4 votes)

Hodgson’s Poetry (3 votes)

Media Adaptations (3 votes)

Hodgson’s Non-Fiction (1 vote)

I admit that I find these results to be very interesting.  I was not aware that there was that much interest in Literary Criticism of WHH.  And, while I thought the Fiction subject would do well, I was surprised at the low numbers for Hodgson’s Life.  I had also planned on running some material about Hodgson’s Non-Fiction but these results are making me reconsider that plan.

H.C. Koenig

As a result of the earlier post, “The Man Who Saved Hodgson”, noted Hodgson and Weird Literature scholar Douglas Anderson has informed me that he has determined how Koenig first learned about Hodgson himself!  For the update on that, please visit Doug’s own page at:

http://desturmobed.blogspot.com/2012/04/colin-de-la-mare.html

I would heartily recommend that all readers of this blog follow Doug’s blog regularly.

So, the next update of the blog will be this Friday (the 13th!) when I will present a brief essay on the history of Hodgson Critical Studies!

Best,

Sam Gafford

1 Comment

Filed under William Hope Hodgson

One response to “Updates!

  1. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I’m quite sure I’ll learn many new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

