Some Reviews!


Recently, Dave Brzeski wrote some very nice reviews of CARNACKI: THE NEW ADVENTURES and both issues of SARGASSO for the British Fantasy Society. You can find those reviews here:

CARNACKI: THE NEW ADVENTURES

SARGASSO ISSUE ONE

SARGASSO ISSUE TWO

I’d like to thank Dave for taking the time to review and promote those books. It truly does mean a lot.

I don’t think it will come as any surprise to anyone when I say that I don’t make money doing these books. The total print sales for each one of these books barely exceed three figures so we’re not talking a 50 SHADES OF GREY level blockbuster here. As such, I often feel that I am producing these books, essays and blog posts in a vacuum without knowing if anyone is appreciating or even reading these things. This blog rarely gets over 100 hits on a single day which, given the amount of weird fiction fans, can be somewhat discouraging.

Still, it’s only to be expected. Hodgson is a niche writer in a relatively small genre. He’s never going to have the critical success or name recognition that Poe or Lovecraft currently enjoy. So that’s why I want to thank Dave for putting up those reviews and reminding me about why I published them in the first place: Hodgson.

It’s been a tough year for me and 2015 is barely started. Last year, I was looking towards publishing several Hodgson books including a volume of THE COMPLETE POEMS OF WILLIAM HOPE HODGSON. I had to scrap that poetry book when it became obvious that the cost would outweigh sales and I’d recently been considering canceling SARGASSO as well. Now I have a lot more to think about and more material to create for this blog.

Hodgson wasn’t a quitter. That was abundantly shown during his life as he tried profession after profession and never failed to pick himself back up after a failure or set-back. That’s what Dave reminded me about and what I have to keep thinking as I move forward in 2015.

9 Comments

Filed under William Hope Hodgson

9 responses to “Some Reviews!

  1. Chris F.

    “In going where you have to go, and doing what you have to do, and seeing what you have to see, you dull and blunt the instrument you write with. But I would rather have it bent and dulled and know I had to put it on the grindstone again and hammer it into shape and put a whetstone to it, and know that I had something to write about, than to have it bright and shining and nothing to say, or smooth and well oiled in the closet, but unused.” Ernest Hemingway, Preface to The First Forty-Nine Stories.

    So, thanks for all your hard work on Hodgson Sam and keep hammering away!

  2. Joe Hinton

    I don’t know how these things work; whether this will come out as a reply or a comment, or if there is a difference, but . . .
    Sam, keep up the good work! Your blog is read, I check it almost daily to see if you have posted more information, which is always interesting.
    SARGASSO 3?

  3. Willikers

    It’s too bad that you don’t get more weird fiction fans visiting your site– that’s certainly the angle from which I stumbled into your bloggothing. Hope you keep doing what you’re doing, Hodgson deserves a champion or three.

    For what it’s worth, Hodgson-awareness does seem to be a bit low amongst the somewhat sizable weird fiction fanbase. My first experience with his work was “The Voice in the Night” … but if I’d read a Carnacki story first I might not have read much further, maybe misunderstood him to be a more conventional horror writer with sciencey attitudes.

    But nope! that didn’t happen, thanks to, well, blogs like this one. I knew exactly what stories of his to seek out because a handful of kindly scholars keep WHH resources up for us on the internet. After reading his (insufficient!) weird fiction output I then went on to read & enjoy the Carnacki stories and beyond.

    So, uh, keep preachin’, brother. It worked on me. For what it’s worth I don’t think I’d buy a Hodgson poetry collection, but if you could find a decent illustrator and make an atlas/history of the Night Land (Lands?) written deadpan as if it were, like, a 9th-grader’s textbook stolen from the future Last Redoubt… sorry, sorry, asking you to fulfill my fantasies is inappropriate. Keep up the great work!

  4. Robert

    Sam,
    I am only vaguely familiar with your contributions to all things Hodgsonian through other websites and only recently discovered this one. Anyone, however, who champions Hodgson as you so devotedly do (though it may, at times, seem like preaching in a void) is moving the bounds of human imagination forward. For this, I am deeply grateful for your efforts. To read Hodgson’s best work is both a mind and spirit – expanding experience. Consider that your efforts have undoubtedly made that fact REAL to several people. That a great reward you can be proud of. I’m an English teacher in an urban poverty school. I understand how you lonely and insignificant your efforts may sometimes may seem against the relentless tsunami of mediocrity that surrounds us. But expanding even ONE mind is worth the effort, and I’m certain you’ve done much more. Hodgson may never have the “critical success or name recognition” of Poe, but Lovecraft hasn’t always been a household name in literary circles either. Literary tastes ebb and flow, and I’m certain that one day Hodgson’s “recognition” day will come. As Lin Carter said, you can’t keep a good book down, and we know that Hodgson penned more than one. Whatever your future decisions with regard to Hodgson, you’ve certainly moved us closer to that day.

  5. Martin

    Don’t quit Sam!

  6. I’d buy the poetry book and get both of my friends to as well.

  7. For what it’s worth, you have an admirer in me. Much appreciation for all you do! Hope you are able to continue and that persistence will be rewarded.

Leave a Reply

